Philosophy, Vision, Mission


history of the Office of Agricultural Museum and Culture

Kasetsart University was the first Thai institution of higher learning to offer educational programs in agriculture and has since gone on to earn a reputation for excellence in this field, and because agriculture has long had an important place in the way of life of the Thai people and also because the Bureau of State Universities has made the fostering of national culture one

of the four main responsibilities of institutions of higher learning, the university in its Sixth Educational Development Plan (1987-1991) proposed the establishment of a special unit dedicated to the fostering of culture and appointed a succession of working groups and committees for this purpose beginning in 1989. At around the same time, the idea of establishing an agricultural museum was being considered, and in 1987 a working group was appointed to carry forward this project. Ultimately, the museum project and the efforts in the field of culture were brought together, and this gave birth to the Office of Agricultural Museum and Culture. As 1991 and 1992 was the very auspicious time in which Her Royal Highness Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn reached her thirty-sixth year, Kasetsart University petitioned to be granted the privilege of having the founding of the Office of Agricultural Museum and Culture included as part of the celebration of the birthday of Her Royal Highness.

The decree establishing the Office of Agricultural Museum and Culture as a government unit under Kasetsart University was promulgated in the Royal Gazette on August 31, 1993. The objectives for which it was established are:


to be a center for collecting, organizing, preserving, and exhibiting agricultural implements and equipment, plants, animals, natural materials, and man-made objects related to the nation’s agriculture and for displaying the culture and way of life of the Thai people related to agriculture so as to show the distinctiveness of the Thai,

to be a center for study and research on the history of agriculture, the evolution of agriculture, important people in agriculture, and Thai agricultural technology, for collecting documents and other types of materials useful in such study and research, and for providing academic services to state and private organizations and to the general public,

to be a center for promoting study and research on beliefs, values, ideas, and folk wisdom which are basic to the way in which farmers and all Thai people live their lives,


to be a center for promoting research on, for making known, and for preserving important local and national arts, cultures, customs, and traditions and for organizing cultural exchanges both within the nation and between nations that will create an understanding of and a perception of the fundamentals of folk culture and Thai local cultures and lead to an appreciation of their variety and their value to culture and civilization,

to be a place for carrying on artistic and cultural activities and for study, teaching, and research on artistic and cultural education on both the baccalaureate and graduate levels, and

to promote, preserve, and revive all branches of the nation’s arts and culture.

Kasetsart University also received approval to construct buildings, upon which Her Royal Highness Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn graciously bestowed the name of the organization they were to house: “The Office of Agricultural Museum and Culture,” as a place to conduct the activities it was charged to carry out. Her Royal Highness further granted permission for her royal initials “Saw. Thaw.”
inscribe upon the spire of the pavilion above the pool in front of the buildings. Her Royal Highness laid the foundation stone of the Office of Agricultural Museum and Culture on March 10, 1995, and opened the Office of Agricultural Museum and Culture on December 19, 1997.
Those who have held the position of director of the Office of Agricultural Museum and Culture are:

1. Ajan Wanna Nawikamune                   
 January   3, 1994 – January 12, 1998

2. Ajan Wanna Nawikamune              
 January 13, 1998 – January 12, 2002

3. AssocProf Chaisakran Hirunpruk, Ph.D.
 January 13, 2002 – January 12, 2006

4. Ajan Orathai Pholdi
 January 13, 2006 – January 12, 2010

5. Ajan Orathai Pholdi
January 13, 2010 – January 12, 2014